If I rise, hey one more try. If I believe it is more than this…thus goes the theme of Danny Boyle’s movie, 127 hours.
I learnt that the film is a well-known true story based on Ralston’s book, Between a Rock and a Hard Place. It is the story of a mountain climber who gets his right arm trapped under a solid rock while canyoneering near Moab, Utah. He has only few things to his help. One made in china multi tool knife, a video camera, a bottle of water and one thing that proves priceless saving his life, his undying resolve to live.

Aron in his 127 hours of trap in the crack, moves between feelings of hope, disappointment, depression, hallucinations. He repents his arrogance that costs him his lady love, his wrong decisions that brings him no hope of any help from outside.

He hallucinates, he fights to hold on to the bottle of water that can postpone his death by few more hours, he tastes his own blood when the last drops of water fails to quench his thirst. He enjoys 15 minutes of sun shine he gets everyday to warm his hands and legs. He cries desperately to any sign of help, he tries every possible way to get his hand freed from the clutches of the unforgiving rock.


That’s when Aron played by James Franco speaks these lines with despair. “I have been thinking. It was me. I chose this. This rock has been waiting for me my entire life. From million billion years ago, from space to come here, right here. I have been moving towards this my whole life. The minute I was born, every breath I have taken, my every action has been leading me to this crack on this earth surface.” With Rahaman’s music in the back drop these lines takes you into it.

Finally he resolves to cut his arm with the made in china blunt knife. That’s when it becomes tough to stay tuned for the next 10 minutes. Then it gets over. 1hour 30 minutes of breath stopping sequences.
Go for it. Hats off to Danny Boyle. He is wonderful as ever.

